Muallimzâde Kazasker Ahmed Efendi had the masjid built in Hijri 970 / 1562-1563.
At a later date, a minbar was added to the masjid, and the building acquired the function of a mosque.
The building burned in 1927, was not revived, and the historical structure has not survived to the present day.
Some of the gravestones in the graveyard were moved to Karacaahmet Cemetery in 1971.
The Divitçiler Mosque that is open for worship today is a modern-period reconstruction erected after the disappearance of the historical building in the 20th century.
Prominent Features:
The building is also popularly known as Kazasker Mosque; the names Kadıasker Mosque and Kazasker Masjid are also used.
The present building is three storeys high; its upper covering is arranged with six small domes and one large dome.
On the lower floor of the building are the imam’s residence, the ablution area, and toilet units.
The surroundings of the historical mosque once had a fabric that could be read together with Sufi lodges and graveyards; this context has largely changed today.