Keçecipiri Mosque

Keçecipiri Mosque

Year Built
16th century
Commissioned By
Keçecipiri Mehmet Ağa
Architect
Unknown
Location
Beyoğlu
Listen
-0:00

Changes After Construction

  1. It was first built as a masjid and was changed into a mosque by Uncu Halil Ağa by adding a minbar.

  2. It was rebuilt by Emetullah Kadın, the Başkadın (the title given to the imperial consort who gives birth to Sultan’s first child) of Ahmed III.

  3. The school located below was also built as a part of the mosque, but it has not survived to the present day.

  4. The mosque underwent various repairs over time and the narthex was added.

Featured Highlights

  • It was built on a total land of 868 m² and has a prayer area of 116 m².

  • It is a magnificent structure, there is a tomb at the bottom and this tomb belongs to Mehmet Efendi, the founder of the mosque.

  • The walls are made of masonry, the roof is covered with wood and brick. It is a domeless structure.

  • There is a stone minaret with a single balcony on the west facade.

  • There is a fountain on the courtyard wall, dated 1706-1707, it is known that the fountain was built by Hazinedar Eyüp Ağa.

Explore

Create a walking route to registered cultural property based on your location.

T.C. İstanbul Valiliği

T.C. İstanbul Valiliği

Dijital İstanbul is a Smart City Project of the Istanbul Governorship and serves as a guide for those who want to explore the cultural assets of our beloved city.

Ziraat Katılım

Ziraat Katılım

Digital İstanbul was realized with the valuable contributions of Ziraat Katılım.