Keçeci Piri Mosque

Keçeci Piri Mosque

Year Built
17th century
Commissioned By
According to some sources, it was built by Keçeci Piri, and according to some sources, it was built by Kazasker Abdülkadir Efendi.
Architect
Unknown
Location
Fatih
Listen
-0:00

Changes After Construction

  1. The minbar was placed by his son, Muderris Ebu Tevfik Eyyüb Efendi, upon the will of Ebu

  2. Eyyüb Recep Efendi, one of the judges of Egypt and the Kethüda (Steward) of Uşşakizade, in 1739-40.

  3. It was repaired in 1899 during the reign of Abdulhamid II.

Featured Highlights

  • The walls of the structure, also known as the “Sarmaşık” and “Kazasker Abdülkadir Efendi Mosque”, are made of stone; the ceiling and roof are wooden and the roof is covered with tiles.

  • The base of the single-balcony minaret on the left side of the mosque is made of cut stone, the body and honeycomb parts are made of concrete briquette, and the cone is lead-coated.

  • All walls are covered with wooden paneling up to one meter from the ground.

  • The mihrab is covered with tiles; the pulpit and minbar are made of wood.

  • The pulpit has a beautiful decoration in the shape of a flowerpot.

  • The upper gallery, which is simply made of wood, is accessed from the narthex and stands on 5 wooden poles.

  • Recep and Eyyub Efendi, who had the minbar built, are buried in the Keskindede Cemetery.

Explore

Create a walking route to registered cultural property based on your location.

T.C. İstanbul Valiliği

T.C. İstanbul Valiliği

Dijital İstanbul is a Smart City Project of the Istanbul Governorship and serves as a guide for those who want to explore the cultural assets of our beloved city.

Ziraat Katılım

Ziraat Katılım

Digital İstanbul was realized with the valuable contributions of Ziraat Katılım.